top of page
braces 1.jpeg


EFOSA was founded in 1977 by Professor Charles Bolender. Its founding members included: Belgium, Denmark, Germany, England, France, Netherlands, Ireland and Italy, and today boasts more than 25 member countries across Europe.


Find out more about EFOSA's history and timeline below.

General Assembly Meeting was Held Face to Face in Limassol

The 2022 General Assembly Meeting was held face to face in Limassol, Cyprus, minutes to be published once approved at the next GAM 2023, in Oslo.

General Assembly Meeting was Held Virtually

1. EOS meeting was virtual in 2021. The EOS congress in Limassol was cancelled for 2021 hopefully held 2022. Important initiative has been raised by Christian Scherer: Joint declaration of DIY (Do it yourself) orthodontics or

remote orthodontics.

2. Ignacio Garcia Espoña contacted EFOSA to have support for the recognition of the specialty in Spain. Ignacio was liaised with the Austrians, to get support from their experience.

3. The website needs some refreshing, should be updated, and perhaps made completely new.

4. The DIY orthodontic initiative was continued. We have been witnessing several DIY-orthodontics with aggressive marketing in the media. Disruptive technology is their claim to fame.

5. Changes of council: all the candidates were chosen unanimously for 4 years


Melissa Disse: president (new elected)

Arti Hindocha: secretary (new elected)

Bart Vande Vannet: vice-president

Christian Scherer: treasurer

The webmaster position was dropped, and Alain Vigie Du Cayla was accepted as member of the council.

General Assembly Meeting was Held Virtually

1. The assembly held a minute’s silence to remember Charles Bolender, one of the EFOSA founders. He passed away in February 2020 at the age of 86 and will be commemorated with honour.

2. Julian O ́Neill attended the EOS-council meetings where the main issue wasthe cancellation of the EOS congress in Hamburg. One other issue is regarding cybercrime scams carried out by international fraudsters.

Unfortunately, members of EFOSA have received mails, asking for payments.

A warning has been sent out to delegates, emphasizing that nothing should ever be paid to EFOSA, except for the annual membership fees requested by Christian Scherer, the treasurer.

3. Implementation of the EFOSA Whatsapp group for active members.

4. Election of new auditors: Jonathan Sandler and Odile Hutereau.

5. Membership update: Some progress has been made in Austria. It is suggested that it is only a matter of time until the final steps are taken. However, Covid19 has postponed meetings with the Ministry of Health and

therefore, there has been no further recent progress. Spain and Austria stay the only European countries not recognizing orthodontics as a dental specialty.

6. Chris Laspos (Cyprus) asked EFOSA was doing enough in preventing general dentists from carrying out orthodontics. The AAO campaign was discussed as a model for raising public awareness about this issue.

General Assembly Meeting was Held in Nice, France

Professor Stavros Kiliaridis as a special guest to the meeting addressed the assembly about quality improvement of the NEBEOP and the European orthodontic specialist training programs the idea, the snowball effect getting all training institutions on board, and continuous development.

Following the discussion of Masters courses, Stavros emphasized that the term NEBEOP should only be used only by those who fulfill all criteria and have undergone the process for full membership. Stavros does not accept the use of the acronym NEBEOP in the flyer for the Malta course. Some discussion ensued about the use of ESAS as a tool for measuring outcomes in post-graduate education. 

Adaptations to the Self Assessment System (ESAS) was introduced.

One new active member was elected : Luxembourg. Austria is soon expected. A new letter was sent out to the Spanish Government

24 Active Members: 


​Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom.

2 Provisional Members: 

Austria, Spain.

Foundation of the EFOSA by Professor Charles Bolender, France.

Foundation Members: 

Belgium, Denmark, Germany, England, France, Netherlands, Ireland, Italy.

Main Tasks of the Eighties:

Realization of the Council Directives 78/686 and 78/687 of 25 July 1978 concerning the mutual recognition of diplomas, certificates and other evidence of the formal qualifications of practitioners of dentistry, including measures to facilitate the effective exercise of the right of establishment and freedom to provide services.


Since 1995 co-operation with the "Euro-Qual Project" under direction of Professor Birte Prahl Andersen, Netherlands.


For a more detailed overview of EFOSA'S timeline and history, please view in our archive.

bottom of page